The Chicago Rubber Group, Inc.
A Subdivision of the Rubber Division, American Chemical Society

President's Message for
May, 2017


<<President's Message>>

CRG Basics of Rubber Technology Course

Schedule of Events

Executive Board

Scholarships and Education Awards






Rubber Division ACS

Annual Golf Outings

Our Bylaws

Spring means a lot of things in Chicagoland: from barbecues and baseball to gardening and golf. But best of all, spring means that summer is right around the corner! At the CRG, it is of course a time for our spring technical meeting and to look forward to some of that summer weather and the golf outings that come with it.


This year is also a year of change at the CRG.   


Our first technical session of the year is approaching quickly, and in fact represents the first change in our schedule from years past for 2017. That is to say that we have moved the Spring Technical meeting back a week to Monday, May 15th, 2017 to avoid a scheduling conflict with the annual Rubber Roller Group meeting. Our meeting however will still be at Hawk's View Golf Club in Lake Geneva, WI. Victor Nasreddine from Arlanxeo will be talking to us about "Levapren / EVM Rubber and its Use in Cable Applications." Registration begins at 3:30 PM and our technical session begins at 4:00 PM. After the presentation, please stick around to join us for a cocktail reception and dinner. We hope to see you there!


The second change for the CRG this year is a change of venue for the CRG Chicago Golf Outing. For years we have held this event at Indian Lakes in Bloomingdale, but unfortunately this course is no longer in operation and we have decided to move this outing to Village Greens in Glen Ellyn, IL. This outing will take place on Thursday, July 20th, and the shotgun start for this event has also been moved up to 11:30 AM.


Hawk’s View Golf Club in Lake Geneva, WI will again be the site of our second outing of the season, which will be held on Wednesday, August 9th. We would like to thank Jessica Petras of Chem Rep for volunteering to take over the Chair position for this outing from Mike Collins. I'm always happy to see our past presidents staying involved in our organization!


Both outings are shotgun starts, followed by cocktails, dinner, and prizes! Our outings are a great opportunity to meet and speak with others in the rubber industry in a more fun and social setting than our typical day-to-day business dealings. Prize donations and sponsorships are always greatly appreciated. To donate please get in touch with one of our golf chairs, Mike Szymborski (Chicago) or Jessica Petras (Wisconsin).


Finally, please remember to renew your memberships, corporate donations, and newsletter advertisements for 2017. We are, as always, welcoming new members so please pass our information along to any friends or colleagues you think may be interested in joining our group. For current members looking to get more involved, please contact myself or one of our other board members for information on how to run for board office in 2018, or for other ways to get involved and help out.


Thank you for your continued support and I look forward to seeing you at one of our events in the coming months!

Mark Hlinak, President

The Chicago Rubber Group, Inc.

Revised 05/08/2017